Everyone speeds occasionally, but it is imperative to keep a close eye on your speedometer in Florida to help prevent yourself from losing your license. Although a single speeding ticket is not likely to get your license suspended, it is important to note that accumulating 12 points in any 12 month period will cause your license to be temporarily revoked for 30 days. When you consider how inconvenient this would be for your entire life, you can easily understand why it is so important to be cautious when you are behind the wheel.
How does the Point System Work in Florida?
Florida drivers in each county are held to a strict point system that will penalize them for moving violations. Therefore, if you are pulled over for going 15 miles per hour (MPH) higher than the posted speed limit in Orange County, you will receive a Florida traffic citation, fine and three points on your license. However, if you are going 16 MPH or more above the speed limit, you will receive four points. It is important to note that other factors can increase the total amount of points that you will receive from one moving violation.
For example, if you are caught going 20 MPH over the speed limit in a construction zone, your points will be doubled to eight. Additionally, if you cause an accident while speeding, you will receive six points. In other words, if you are speeding through a construction zone and you get into an accident, you will get enough points during just one incident for your license to be suspended.
Can I Avoid the Points?
The best way to avoid points is to be a cautious driver who follows the speed limit. However, most people are still going to end up getting the occasional speeding ticket. Fortunately, Florida provides drivers with an option that will let them avoid getting points in most situations. If you want to take advantage of this program, you will need to enroll in a four hour basic driver improvement course.
You will be required to pay for this course, but it will repay you in the long run because you will not need to worry about your car insurance premiums going up or your license being suspended. However, the timing of the physical classes does not fit with everyone’s schedule. Therefore, you can also opt to sign up for an online speeding ticket course to help you meet the necessary requirement from the comfort of your own home.
What is Covered in the Basic Driver Improvement Course?
You will receive the same information regardless of whether you choose to take the course online or in person. Each course places an emphasis on vehicle control, traffic knowledge, driving environment, traffic exposure, driving risk control and traffic perceptual skills. As long as you successfully complete the course, you will retain your “safe driver” status in the state of Florida, and you will not receive any points on your license.
Getting a speeding ticket is expensive, and it can make it much more difficult to pay for your automobile insurance. Therefore, it always makes the most sense to enroll in a driver improvement course instead of simply accepting the points. After all, points stay on your license for 36 months, and you could end up getting your license suspended if you get pulled over again.
Jennifer Alston has experienced one speeding citation in Wisconsin. She often travels to the Orange state and would rather avoid a Florida traffic citation, as we see in the above article, the consequences can be very harsh.